28
Jan
09

Secretly Increase the Fibre Intake of Everyone You Know

img_0514Tried it?      Yes

Liked it?      thumbs-side-clipart41

 

As an aspect of my foray into trying new things, I’ve decided to take a closer look at what I eat.  I’ve recently given up red meat and chicken, and I’ve vowed to complement my sedentary lifestyle with regular activity (virtual though it may be).  It helps to have a vegetarian husband with the same goals; he’s been pushing me towards a regular excercise routine (bless his valiant efforts), and I’ve been pretending I can cook in my newly increased spare time. 

img_0538As a neo-quasi-lacto-ovo-pesce-vegetarian who doesn’t drink milk, I’m learning how important it is to supplement my diet with calcium, protein and, yes, fibre (or fiber to my American readers).  So when inulin (not insulin) powder found its way onto my kitchen shelf though the generosity of my in-laws, my interest was piqued.

The most immediately quantifiable claim about inulin is that you can add it to food and beverages without affecting its taste, colour, or texture.  It apparently aids in the absorption of calcium and iron — which is a plus for me.  It can even improve the texture of low-fat ice cream.

img_0517So I tried it and discovered a few things.  First, it needs to be added to liquid — not the other way around, unless you’re looking for clumps of inappropriate-looking white stuff in your food and beverages.  If you’re baking or cooking with it, add it to any liquids before you mix it into dry ingredients (like biscuits or soup).  And it doesn’t really completely dissolve in cold water, as shown in the pictures; hot liquid works best (like tea).  I suppose that makes sense; after all, if I’m emptying a vial of it into your drink at a bar, you’d like to see what’s going on in your glass, wouldn’t you?  (By the way, I’m not going to do that.)

img_0503Unfortunately, I drank the liquids pictured in these and other unused photos and got really farty.  Of course, I haven’t been using it for long enough to have developed a tolerance for it, and it’s recommended that you work gradually from 1-3 teaspoons (up to 15 grams) per day.  When I say it’s recommended, I mean DO IT.  Don’t be like me.  Farty, I mean.  The funny thing is that, because it’s tasteless and odorless, so is the end result.  I’m going to stop this paragraph right here before we have any more regrets.

img_0513So what’s my verdict?  It hasn’t killed me yet.  Of course, I don’t think I’ve been doing it on a regular enough basis to have had any effect.  I mean, people don’t die from eating too many sunchokes, do they?  However, it hasn’t done anything magical yet.  Oh, well; it really isn’t that expensive — I think it’s about 12 bucks for 105 servings or something like that, which calculates into about 11 cents per serving, which works for me right now.  Just stay away from me for a few days.

0 Responses to “Secretly Increase the Fibre Intake of Everyone You Know”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

