07
Dec
09

Choose Your Own Baked-Oatmeal Adventure

Tried it?      

Liked it?     

So it looks as though my husband has a rather heavy workload this week, and it’s up to me (as my schedule has been a little light for the first time in a very long time) to pick up the cooking duties. I thought I’d start the week with some baked oatmeal—an old standby of mine—and I posted a photo of the results on Twitter. Since I’ve received a request to share the recipe, here it is. And you know that if I made it, it’s going to be easy…

I used these two recipes as the basis for my own version and, after futzing around with the ingredients, I’ve found a happy medium that is cheap, tasty, and nutritious. I even make a few batches of the dry ingredients and keep them in little plastic containers for when I’m feeling lazy but want to impress the husband with a warm, baked breakfast. Since the base is so flexible, you can basically do what you want with it, so I’ve included a few options.

Vegan Warning: None! Unless you use non-vegan ingredients (which I’ve listed for your convenience). If you’re allergic to nuts, don’t use nuts. And so on. The vegan options are lower in fat and will result in a chewier texture. I’ve highlighted the options I use most often in bold italics, in case you care.

Baked Oatmeal Base
1 1/2 cups quick oats
1/2 mashed banana (or 1 egg)
1/2 cup fat-free soy milk (or regular milk)
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (or melted butter)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup brown sugar (or honey—you could go up to 1/2 cup if you like things really sweet)
Optional Ingredients
A few shakes of cinnamon and/or random 1/2-cup handfuls of the following: walnuts, currants, raisins, chopped apples, raw sunflower seeds, flax seeds, chocolate chips… be creative!
Heat oven to 350°F. Spray an 8-inch square baking pan (or 6 muffin tins) with cooking spray (or, if you use silicone like I do, don’t). Combine wet and dry ingredients separately before adding to each other. Mix completely and pour into pan (or tins). Bake for 25-30 minutes (20-25 minutes for muffins), turning pan once during baking, until edges brown. Makes 4 generous servings (or 6 rather filling muffins).

I made the muffin version for the first time today with currants (as I often do) and raw sunflower seeds (which are cheaper than walnuts from Strictly Bulk), and I was pretty pleased with the result. Drizzled with vanilla yogurt, it looks pretty impressive for the lack of effort that goes into them. Feel free to try it out for yourself, and let me know how it goes.

0 Responses to “Choose Your Own Baked-Oatmeal Adventure”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

